Gallery Menu Page


picture of
			Tiny Tim steam hammer on approach road to Beamish Museum

BEAMISH

The North of England Open Air Museum

Visiting Beamish is a unique experience. Covering over 300 acres, the museum recreates life in the area in various eras. In August 2005 we visited some of the 1910 areas, including the Town and the Colliery Village. There is not time in a single day to do much more than scratch the surface of what this extraordinary place has to offer. We saw some more in September 2006.

We also attended "A Beamish Christmas" on 8 Decenber 2006. We think that was probably their first attempt at such a venture. From our point of view it was not a resounding success and cerainly not worth the number of hours we spent on the road.

We returned on 4 October 2016 and 2 July 2017. Much had changed during the intervening years and it was a greatly improved and rewarding experience. There is still a vast amount we haven't seen, and new buildings and attractions are appearing all the time. So we will return very very soon.

October 2019 - Peter and nephew Jason visited Beamish. As well as adding a large number of photographs for this website, we visited Joe the Quilter's cottage from near Hexham, recreated here in 2018. (Joseph Hedley, aged 76, stabbed to death in 1826.)

The illustration above is of Tiny Tim, the rather large steam hammer that visitors pass through when entering the Museum. It was built by Glen and Ross of Glasgow for the Darlington Forge in 1883.

.

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 
© 2005 - 2019 Thelma and Peter Jones
Last updated 3 November 2019
 
HTML5